Parks and Recreation CommissionParks and Recreation Commission<p>13 Members<br>Appointed by the Board of Commissioners<br><br><strong>Members: </strong>appointments are to represent youth athletic playing districts based on the elementary school districts in Burke County. Playing districts participating in three or more youth sporting leagues are eligible for a representative. The playing districts include Glen Alpine, Oak Hill, Drexel, Ray Childers, Morganton, Mull, Salem, George Hildebran, Valdese, Hildebran, Chesterfield, and Forest Hill. Each member shall serve a three-year term. A Commissioner serves on this commission and shall serve concurrent with his term as Commissioner.<br><br><strong>Purpose: </strong>the Recreation Commission shall consult with and advise the Recreation Department and the Board of Commissioners in matters affecting recreation policies, programs, finances, and activities to provide healthful and wholesome recreation to the citizens of Burke County. </p><h2>Meetings</h2><p><span class="ms-rteStyle-Quote">Meetings are held at 12:00 p.m. on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at the Foothill Higher Learning Center In Morganton, Suite 140 unless otherwise indicated. All meetings are open to the public. To be placed on the agenda call 828-764-9090.</span></p><p><span class="ms-rteStyle-Quote">**Notice** Next meeting will be May 9th.</span></p>