Soil & Water Conservation District Board


  • 8:30 a.m.
  • 1st Wednesday of every month
  • Agricultural Building


  • J. Wayne Packard, Chair
     3875 Hyder Court
     Morganton, NC 28655
  • Matthew Johnson, Vice-Chair
    106 Crestlane Drive
     Morganton, NC 28655
  • Harold Hicks Pollard, Member
     5394 Dysartsville Road
     Morganton, NC  28655
  • Joe Wenzel, Member
     5936 Walker Chapel Road
     Morganton, NC 28655
  • Evan S. Crawley, Member
     4356 Denton’s Chapel Road
     Morganton, NC 28655

Board Overview

The Soil and Water Conservation District is Governed by a five member Board which consists of two members appointed by the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission and three members which are elected by the citizens of Burke County, to a four-year staggered term on a non-partisan basis. Board meetings are open to the public.