Session Law 2018-80 was passed making it illegal for companies to charge fees significantly greater than what someone can actually get the document for in the Register of Deeds office.
We are asking any property owner in Burke County who receives a letter asking you to pay $86.00 or other large dollar amount for a copy of your deed or "property assessment profile" to bring this letter into the Burke County Register of Deeds office. We will forward the letter to the North Carolina Attorney General's office. Other North Carolina Register of Deeds offices will be doing the same in hopes that the NC Attorney General's office will take action against these out of state companies that are preying on our citizens.
Please remember that you can obtain a copy of your deed on our website for free or you can get a copy in our office for $0.25 per page.
Please contact our office if you have any questions about these letters at 828-764-9340.